Computing Applications

Nominees For Elections and Report of the ACM Nominating Committee

  1. Article
ballot box

In accordance with the Constitution and Bylaws of the ACM, the Nominating Committee hereby submits the following slate of nominees for ACM’s officers. In addition to the officers of the ACM, five Members at Large will be elected. The names of the candidates for each office are presented in random order below:

President (7/1/12–6/30/14):

Barbara G. Ryder, Virginia Tech
Vinton G. Cerf, Google

Vice President (7/1/12–6/30/14):

Mathai Joseph, Advisor, Tata Consultancy Services
Alexander L. Wolf, Imperial College London

Secretary/Treasurer (7/1/12–6/30/14):

George V. Neville-Neil, Neville-Neil Consulting
Vicki L. Hanson, University of Dundee

Members at Large (7/1/12–6/30/16):

Radia Perlman, Intel
Ricardo Baeza-Yates, Yahoo! Research, Barcelona/Santiago
Feng Zhao, Microsoft Research, Beijing
Eric Allman, Sendmail Inc.
Mary Lou Soffa, University of Virginia
P.J. Narayanan, IIIT-Hyderabad
Eugene Spafford, Purdue University

The Constitution and Bylaws provide that candidates for elected offices of the ACM may also be nominated by petition of one percent of the Members who as of November 1 are eligible to vote for the nominee. Such petitions must be accompanied by a written declaration that the nominee is willing to stand for election. The number of Member signatures required for the offices of President, Vice President, Secretary/Treasurer, and Members at Large, is 683.

The Bylaws provide that such petitions must reach the Elections Committee before January 31. Original petitions for ACM offices are to be submitted to the ACM Elections Committee, c/o Pat Ryan, COO, ACM Headquarters, 2 Penn Plaza, Suite 701, New York, NY 10121, USA, by January 31, 2012. Duplicate copies of the petitions should also be sent to the Chair of the Elections Committee, Gerry Segal, c/o ACM Headquarters. All candidates nominated by petition are reminded of the requirements stated in the Policy and Procedures on Nominations and Elections that a candidate for high office must meet in order to serve with distinction. Copies of this document are available from Rosemary McGuinness, Office of Policy and Administration, ACM Headquarters. Statements and biographical sketches of all candidates will appear in the May 2012 issue of Communications.

The Nominating Committee would like to thank all those who helped us with their suggestions and advice.

Dame Wendy Hall, CHAIR
Anand Deshpande, Ben Fried, Cherri Pancake, and Robert A. Walker

Join the Discussion (0)

Become a Member or Sign In to Post a Comment

The Latest from CACM

Shape the Future of Computing

ACM encourages its members to take a direct hand in shaping the future of the association. There are more ways than ever to get involved.

Get Involved

Communications of the ACM (CACM) is now a fully Open Access publication.

By opening CACM to the world, we hope to increase engagement among the broader computer science community and encourage non-members to discover the rich resources ACM has to offer.

Learn More