Computing Applications

Nominees For Elections and Report of the ACM Nominating Committee

  1. Article

In accordance with the Constitution and Bylaws of the ACM, the Nominating Committee hereby submits the following slate of nominees for ACM’s officers. In addition to the officers of the ACM, six Members at Large will be elected. The names of the candidates for each office are presented in random order below:

President (7/1/08–6/30/10):

  • Wendy Hall, University of Southampton
    J Strother Moore, University of Texas, Austin

Vice President (7/1/08–6/30/10):

  • Joseph A. Konstan, University of Minnesota
    Alain Chesnais, View22 Technology Inc.

Secretary/Treasurer (7/1/08–6/30/10)

  • Norman Jouppi, Hewlett-Packard
    Barbara Ryder, Rutgers University

Members at Large (7/1/08–6/30/12):

  • Anthony Joseph, University of California, Berkeley
    Dan Ling, Microsoft Research (Retired)
    Peter Norvig, Google, Inc.
    Kelly Lyons, IBM, Toronto
    Chuang Lin, Tsinghua University
    Mary Lou Soffa, University of Virginia
    Carlo Ghezzi, Politecnico di Milano
    Mathai Joseph, Tata Consultancy Services/University of Warwick

The Constitution and Bylaws provide that candidates for elected offices of the ACM may also be nominated by petition of one percent of the Members who as of November 1 are eligible to vote for the nominee. Such petitions must be accompanied by a written declaration that the nominee is willing to stand for election. The number of Member signatures required for the offices of President, Vice President, Secretary/Treasurer and Members at Large, is 637.

The Bylaws provide that such petitions must reach the Elections Committee before January 31. Original petitions for ACM offices are to be submitted to the ACM Elections Committee, c/o Pat Ryan, COO, ACM Headquarters, 2 Penn Plaza, Suite 701, New York, NY 10121-0701, USA, by January 31, 2008. Duplicate copies of the petitions should also be sent to the Chair of the Elections Committee, Gerry Segal, Chief Information Architect, New York State Psychiatric Institute, Unit 18, 1051 Riverside Drive, New York, NY 10032, USA. All candidates nominated by petition are reminded of the requirements stated in the Policy and Procedures on Nominations and Elections that a candidate for high office must meet in order to serve with distinction. Copies of this document are available from Rosemary McGuinness, Office of Policy and Administration, ACM Headquarters. Statements and biographical sketches of all candidates will appear in the May 2008 issue of CACM.

The Nominating Committee would like to thank all those who helped us with their suggestions and advice.

David A. Patterson, Chair; Mary Jane Irwin, Bertrand Meyer, Kevin Scott, Gabriel Silberman

Join the Discussion (0)

Become a Member or Sign In to Post a Comment

The Latest from CACM

Shape the Future of Computing

ACM encourages its members to take a direct hand in shaping the future of the association. There are more ways than ever to get involved.

Get Involved

Communications of the ACM (CACM) is now a fully Open Access publication.

By opening CACM to the world, we hope to increase engagement among the broader computer science community and encourage non-members to discover the rich resources ACM has to offer.

Learn More