Computing Profession News

ACM Recognizes New Fellows

  1. Introduction
  2. 2016 ACM Fellows
ACM logo

ACM has recognized 53 of its members as ACM Fellows for major contributions in areas including artificial intelligence, cryptography, computer architecture, high performance computing and programming languages. The achievements of the 2016 ACM Fellows are accelerating the digital revolution, and affect almost every aspect of how we live and work today.

"As nearly 100,000 computing professionals are members of our association, to be selected to join the top one percent is truly an honor," explains ACM President Vicki L. Hanson. "Fellows are chosen by their peers and hail from leading universities, corporations and research labs throughout the world. Their inspiration, insights and dedication bring immeasurable benefits that improve lives and help drive the global economy."

Underscoring ACM’s global reach, 2016 Fellows hail from organizations in Australia, Austria, Canada, China, France, India, Israel, Italy, The Netherlands, Switzerland, the United Kingdom and the United States.

The 2016 Fellows have been cited for numerous contributions in areas including cloud computing, computer security, data science, Internet routing and security, large-scale distributed computing, mobile computing, spoken-language processing and theoretical computer science.

ACM will formally recognize its 2016 Fellows at the annual Awards Banquet, to be held in San Francisco on June 24, 2017. Additional information about the 2016 ACM Fellows, the awards event, as well as previous ACM Fellows and award winners is available on the ACM Awards site at

Back to Top

2016 ACM Fellows

Noga Alon, Tel Aviv University

Paul Barford, University of Wisconsin

Luca Benini, Swiss Federal Institute of Technology, Zurich and Universitá di Bologna

Ricardo Bianchini, Microsoft Research

Stephen Blackburn, Australian National University

Dan Boneh, Stanford University

Carla E. Brodley, Northeastern University

Justine Cassell, Carnegie Mellon University / Language Technologies Institute

Erik Demaine, Massachusetts Institute of Technology

Allison Druin, University of Maryland

Fredo Durand, Massachusetts Institute of Technology

Nick Feamster, Princeton University

Jason Flinn, University of Michigan

William Freeman, Massachusetts Institute of Technology

Yolanda Gil, University of Southern California

Robert L. Grossman, University of Chicago / Open Data Group

Rajesh K. Gupta, University of California, San Diego

James Hendler, Rensselaer Polytechnic Institute

Monika Henzinger, Universität Wien

Tony Hey, The Science and Technology Facilities Council’s Rutherford Appleton Laboratory

Xuedong Huang, Microsoft AI and Research

Daniel Jackson, Massachusetts Institute of Technology

Robert J.K. Jacob, Tufts University

Somesh Jha, University of Wisconsin

Ravi Kannan, Microsoft Research

Anne-Marie Kermarrec, Mediego/Inria

Martin Kersten, Centrum Wiskunde & Informatica

Christoforos Kozyrakis, Stanford University

Marta Kwiatkowska, University of Oxford

James Landay, Stanford University

K. Rustan M. Leino, Microsoft Research

J. Bryan Lyles, Oak Ridge National Laboratory

Todd C. Mowry, Carnegie Mellon University

Trevor Mudge, University of Michigan, Ann Arbor

Sharon Oviatt, Incaa Designs

Venkata N. Padmanabhan, Microsoft Research India

Shwetak Patel, University of Washington

David Peleg, The Weizmann Institute of Science

Radia Perlman, Dell-EMC

Adrian Perrig, ETH Zurich

Ganesan Ramalingam, Microsoft Research India

Louiqa Raschid, University of Maryland

Holly Rushmeier, Yale University

Michael Saks, Rutgers, The State University of New Jersey

Sachin S. Sapatnekar, University of Minnesota

Abigail Sellen, Microsoft Research

Sudipta Sengupta, Microsoft Research

André Seznec, INRIA

Valerie E. Taylor, Texas A&M University

Carlo Tomasi, Duke University

Paul Van Oorschot, Carleton University

Manuela M. Veloso, Carnegie Mellon University

Zhi-Hua Zhou, Nanjing University

Join the Discussion (0)

Become a Member or Sign In to Post a Comment

The Latest from CACM

Shape the Future of Computing

ACM encourages its members to take a direct hand in shaping the future of the association. There are more ways than ever to get involved.

Get Involved

Communications of the ACM (CACM) is now a fully Open Access publication.

By opening CACM to the world, we hope to increase engagement among the broader computer science community and encourage non-members to discover the rich resources ACM has to offer.

Learn More