Computing Applications News

ACM Fellows Inducted

  1. Introduction
  2. 2013 ACM Fellows
ACM logo

ACM has recognized 50 of its members for their contributions to computing that are driving innovations across multiple domains and disciplines. The 2013 ACM Fellows, representing many of the world’s leading universities, corporations, and research labs, have achieved advances in computing research and development that are accelerating the digital revolution and impacting every dimension of how we live, work, and play … worldwide.

"We recognize these scientists and engineers, creators and builders, theorists and practitioners who are making a difference in our lives," said ACM President Vinton G. Cerf. "They’re enabling us to listen, learn, calculate, and communicate in ways that underscore the benefits of the digital age. Their advances have led to opportunities for improved healthcare, enhanced security, expanded interactions, and enriched lifestyles. Some recipients have also led efforts to extend computing across continents and countries including Brazil, China, and Germany."

The ACM Fellows Program was established by Council in 1993 to recognize and honor outstanding ACM members for their achievements in computer science and information technology and for their significant contributions to the mission of the ACM. For a complete list of ACM Fellows, visit

Back to Top

2013 ACM Fellows

Mark S. Ackerman
University of Michigan

Charu C. Aggarwal
IBM Research

James H. Anderson
University of North Carolina at Chapel Hill

Mihir Bellare
University of California, San Diego

Christine L. Borgman
University of California, Los Angeles

Stefano Ceri
Politecnico di Milano

Krishnendu Chakrabarty
Duke University

Ramalingam Chellappa
University of Maryland

Ingemar J. Cox
University of Copenhagen, University College London

Carlos J. P. De Lucena
Pontifical Catholic University of Rio de Janeiro

Rina Dechter
University of California, Irvine

Chip Elliott
Raytheon BBN Technologies

David Forsyth
University of Illinois at Urbana-Champaign

Wen Gao
Peking University

David Garlan
Carnegie Mellon University

James Gosling
Liquid Robotics

Peter Haas
IBM Research – Almaden

Marti Hearst
University of California, Berkeley

Matthias Jarke
RWTH Aachen University (Germany Aachen University of Technology)

Sampath K. Kannan
University of Pennsylvania

David J. Kasik

Dina Katabi
Massachusetts Institute of Technology

Henry A. Kautz
University of Rochester

Jon Kleinberg
Cornell University

Panganamala Kumar
Texas A&M University

Douglas S. Lea
State University of New York, Oswego

Yoelle Maarek

Christopher D. Manning
Stanford University

Madhav V. Marathe
Virginia Bioinformatics Institute and Virginia Polytechnic Institute

John M. Mellor-Crummey
Rice University

Greg Morrisett
Harvard University

Andrew C. Myers
Cornell University

Dana Nau
University of Maryland

Satish Rao
University of California, Berkeley

S.E. Robertson
University College London

Timothy Roscoe
ETH Zurich

Timoleon K. Sellis
RMIT University (Australia)

Dennis E. Shasha
Courant Institute, New York University

Nir N. Shavit
Massachusetts Institute of Technology

Kyuseok Shim
Seoul National University

Padhraic Smyth
University of California, Irvine

Milind Tambe
University of Southern California

Val Tannen
University of Pennsylvania

David P. Williamson
Cornell University

Limsoon Wong
National University of Singapore

Moti Yung
Google Inc.

Ellen Zegura
Georgia Institute of Technology

Zhengyou Zhang
Microsoft Research

Yuanyuan Zhou
University of California, San Diego

David Zuckerman
University of Texas at Austin

Join the Discussion (0)

Become a Member or Sign In to Post a Comment

The Latest from CACM

Shape the Future of Computing

ACM encourages its members to take a direct hand in shaping the future of the association. There are more ways than ever to get involved.

Get Involved

Communications of the ACM (CACM) is now a fully Open Access publication.

By opening CACM to the world, we hope to increase engagement among the broader computer science community and encourage non-members to discover the rich resources ACM has to offer.

Learn More