Computing Applications ACM fellows

ACM Fellows

  1. Introduction
  2. ACM Fellows
  3. Call for 2007 Fellow Nominations

The ACM Fellows Program was established by Council in 1993 to recognize and honor outstanding ACM members for their achievements in computer science and information technology and for their significant contributions to the mission of the ACM. The ACM Fellows serve as distinguished colleagues to whom the ACM and its members look for guidance and leadership as the world of information technology evolves.

The ACM Council endorsed the establishment of a Fellows Program and provided guidance to the ACM Fellows Committee, taking the view that the program represents a concrete benefit to which any ACM Member might aspire, and provides an important source of role models for existing and prospective ACM Members. The program is managed by an ACM Fellows Committee as part of the general ACM Awards program administered by Calvin C. Gotlieb and James J. Horning.

The men and women honored as ACM Fellows have made critical contributions toward and continue to exhibit extraordinary leadership in the development of the Information Age and will be inducted at the ACM Awards Banquet on June 9, 2007, at the Del Coronado Hotel in San Diego, CA.

These 41 new inductees bring the total number of ACM Fellows to 594 (see fellows/ for the complete listing of ACM Fellows).

Their works span all horizons in computer science and information technology—from the theoretical realms of numerical analysis, combinatorial mathematics and algorithmic complexity analysis; through provinces of computer architecture, integrated circuits and firmware spanning personal computer to supercomputer design. Indeed, their works spans the limitless world of software and networking that makes computer systems work and produces solutions and results that are useful—and fun—for people everywhere.

Their technical papers, books, university courses, computing programs and hardware for the emerging computer/communications amalgam reflect the powers of their vision and their ability to inspire colleagues and students to drive the field forward. The members of the ACM are all participants in building the runways, launching pads, and vehicles of the global information infrastructure.

Back to Top

ACM Fellows

  • Eric W. Allender, Rutgers University
  • Arvind, Massachusetts Institute of Technology
  • Mikhail J. Atallah, Purdue University
  • Ming-Syan Chen, National Taiwan University
  • Susan Dumais, Microsoft Research
  • Usama M. Fayyad, Yahoo! Inc.
  • Matthias Felleisen, Northeastern University
  • Kenneth D. Forbus, Northwestern University
  • Phillip B. Gibbons, Intel Corporation
  • C. Lee Giles, The Pennsylvania State University
  • Albert G. Greenberg, Microsoft Research
  • William D. Gropp, Argonne National Laboratory
  • Roch Guerin, University of Pennsylvania
  • John Guttag, Massachusetts Institute of Technology
  • Laura M. Haas, IBM Almaden Research Center
  • Alon Halevy, Google, Inc.
  • Anthony C. Hearn, IDA Center for Computing Sciences/RAND Corp.
  • Thomas A. Henzinger, EPFL (Ecole Polytechnique Fédérale, Lausanne)
  • Norman P. Jouppi, Hewlett-Packard Labs
  • John E. Laird, University of Michigan, Ann Arbor
  • James R. Larus, Microsoft Research
  • Charles E. Leiserson, Massachusetts Institute of Technology
  • Ming Li, University of Waterloo
  • Nick McKeown, Stanford University
  • J Strother Moore, University of Texas, Austin
  • Alan F. Newell, University of Dundee
  • Peter Norvig, Google, Inc.
  • Dianne P. O’Leary, University of Maryland
  • Dan R. Olsen, Jr., Brigham Young University
  • Kunle Olukotun, Stanford University
  • M. Tamer Özsu, University of Waterloo
  • Vern Paxson, International Computer Science Institute/Lawrence Berkeley National Laboratory
  • Michael L. Scott, University of Rochester
  • Heung-Yeung Shum, Microsoft Research Asia
  • Alfred Z. Spector, IBM, Retired
  • Victor D. Vianu, University of California, San Diego
  • Marianne Winslett, University of Illinois, Urbana-Champaign
  • Alexander L. Wolf, Imperial College London/University of Colorado at Boulder
  • Bryant W. York, Portland State University
  • Stanley B. Zdonik, Brown University
  • Lixia Zhang, University of California, Los Angeles

Back to Top

Call for 2007 Fellow Nominations

The designation "ACM Fellow" may be conferred upon those ACM members who have distinguished themselves by outstanding technical and professional achievements in information technology, who are current professional members of ACM and have been professional members for the preceding five years. Any professional member of ACM may nominate another member for this distinction. Nominations must be submitted to the ACM Fellows site by no later than Sept. 9, 2007;

Nomination information organized by a principal nominator includes:

1. Excerpts from the candidate’s current curriculum vitae, listing selected publications, patents, technical achievements, honors, and other awards.

2. A description of the work of the nominee, drawing attention to the contributions which merit designation as Fellow.

3. Supporting endorsements from a minimum of five ACM members (and a maximum of eight). Nominations and endorsements must be submitted by Sept. 9, 2007.

Join the Discussion (0)

Become a Member or Sign In to Post a Comment

The Latest from CACM

Shape the Future of Computing

ACM encourages its members to take a direct hand in shaping the future of the association. There are more ways than ever to get involved.

Get Involved

Communications of the ACM (CACM) is now a fully Open Access publication.

By opening CACM to the world, we hope to increase engagement among the broader computer science community and encourage non-members to discover the rich resources ACM has to offer.

Learn More