Computing Applications ACM fellows

ACM Fellows

  1. Introduction
  2. ACM Fellows
  3. Call For 2004 ACM Fellows Nominations

The ACM Fellows Program was established by Council in 1993 to recognize and honor outstanding ACM members for their achievements in computer science and information technology and for their significant contributions to the mission of the ACM. The ACM Fellows serve as distinguished colleagues to whom the ACM and its members look for guidance and leadership as the world of information technology evolves.

The ACM Council endorsed the establishment of a Fellows Program and provided guidance to the ACM Fellows Committee, taking the view that the program represents a concrete benefit to which any ACM Member might aspire, and provides an important source of role models for existing and prospective ACM Members. The program is managed by an ACM Fellows Committee as part of the general ACM Awards program administered by Calvin C. Gotlieb and James J. Horning.

The men and women honored as ACM Fellows have made critical contributions toward and continue to exhibit extraordinary leadership in the development of the Information Age and will be inducted at the ACM Awards Banquet on June 5, 2004 at the Plaza Hotel in New York City. These 30 new inductees bring the total number of ACM Fellows to 498 (see for the complete listing of ACM Fellows).

Their works span all horizons in computer science and information technology: from the theoretical realms of numerical analysis, combinatorial mathematics and algorithmic complexity analysis; through provinces of computer architecture, integrated circuits and firmware spanning personal computer to supercomputer design: into the limitless world of software and networking that makes computer systems work and produces solutions and results that are useful—and fun—for people everywhere.

Their technical papers, books, university courses, computing programs and hardware for the emerging computer/communications amalgam reflect the powers of their vision and their ability to inspire colleagues and students to drive the field forward. The members of the ACM are all participants in building the runways, launching pads, and vehicles of the global information infrastructure.

Back to Top

ACM Fellows

  • Rakesh Agrawal, IBM Almaden Research Center
    Mostafa Ammar, Georgia Institute of Technology
    Victor Bahl, Microsoft Research
    Bonnie Berger, Massachusetts Institute of Technology
    Elisa Bertino, University of Milano
    John Carroll, Pennsylvania State University
    Richard DeMillo, Georgia Institute of Technology
    Barbara J. Grosz, Harvard University
    Brent Hailpern, IBM Thomas J.Watson Research Center
    Jiawei Han, University of Illinois at Urbana-Champaign
    Mary Jean Harrold, Georgia Institute of Technology
    Peter E. Hart, Ricoh Innovations, Inc.
    Mark Horowitz, Stanford University
    Paul Hudak, Yale University
    H.V. Jagadish, University of Michigan
    Anil Jain, Michigan State University
    Ramesh Jain, Georgia Institute of Technology
    Niraj Jha, Princeton University
    Dexter Kozen, Cornell University
    Yi-Bing Lin, National Chiao Tung University
    Kathleen McKeown, Columbia University
    Thomas P. Moran, IBM Almaden Research Center
    Eugene W. Myers, University of California, Berkeley
    Craig Partridge, BBN Technologies
    Daniel A. Reed, University of North Carolina, Chapel Hill
    Stuart J. Russell, University of California, Berkeley
    William H. Sanders, University of Illinois at Urbana-Champaign
    Scott Shenker, University of California, Berkeley
    Gurindar Sohi, University of Wisconsin
    Cornelis J. van Rijsbergen, University of Glasgow

Back to Top

Call For 2004 ACM Fellows Nominations

The designation "ACM Fellow" may be conferred upon those ACM members who have distinguished themselves by outstanding technical and professional achievements in information technology, who are current professional members of ACM and have been professional members for the preceding five years. Any professional member of ACM may nominate another member for this distinction. Nominations must be received by the ACM Fellows Committee no later than Sept. 7, 2004, and must be delivered to the Committee on forms provided for this purpose (see below).

Nomination information organized by a principal nominator includes:

  1. Excerpts from the candidate’s current curriculum vitae, listing selected publications, patents, technical achievements, honors, and other awards.
  2. A description of the work of the nominee, drawing attention to the contributions which merit designation as Fellow.
  3. Supporting endorsements from five ACM members.

ACM Fellows nomination forms and endorsement forms may be obtained from ACM by writing to:

ACM Fellows Nomination Committee
1515 Broadway
New York, New York 10036-5701, USA

The forms can also be accessed from:

Completed forms should be sent by Sept. 7, 2004 to one of the following:

ACM Fellows Committee
1515 Broadway
New York, New York 10036-5701, USA


+1-212-869-0824 – fax

Join the Discussion (0)

Become a Member or Sign In to Post a Comment

The Latest from CACM

Shape the Future of Computing

ACM encourages its members to take a direct hand in shaping the future of the association. There are more ways than ever to get involved.

Get Involved

Communications of the ACM (CACM) is now a fully Open Access publication.

By opening CACM to the world, we hope to increase engagement among the broader computer science community and encourage non-members to discover the rich resources ACM has to offer.

Learn More