Computing Applications News

ACM Fellows Honored

Forty-seven men and women are inducted as 2009 ACM Fellows.
  1. Introduction
  2. ACM Fellows
  3. Footnotes

The ACM Fellow Program was established by Council in 1993 to recognize and honor outstanding ACM members for their achievements in computer science and information technology and for their significant contributions to the mission of the ACM. The ACM Fellows serve as distinguished colleagues to whom the ACM and its members look for guidance and leadership as the world of information technology evolves.

The ACM Council endorsed the establishment of a Fellows Program and provided guidance to the ACM Fellows Committee, taking the view that the program represents a concrete benefit to which any ACM member might aspire, and provides an important source of role models for existing and prospective ACM Members. The program is managed by the ACM Fellows Committee as part of the general ACM Awards program administered by Calvin C. Gotlieb and James J. Horning. For details on Fellows nominations, see p. 19.

The men and women honored as ACM Fellows have made critical contributions toward and continue to exhibit extraordinary leadership in the development of the Information Age and will be inducted at the ACM Awards Banquet on June 26, 2010, in San Francisco, CA. These 47 new inductees bring the total number of ACM Fellows to 722 (see for the complete listing of ACM Fellows).

Their works span all horizons in computer science and information technology: from the theoretical realms of numerical analysis, combinatorial mathematics and algorithmic complexity analysis; through provinces of computer architecture, integrated circuits and firmware spanning personal computer to supercomputer design; into the limitless world of software and networking that makes computer systems work and produces solutions and results that are useful—and fun—for people everywhere.

Their technical papers, books, university courses, computing programs, and hardware for the emerging computer/communications amalgam reflect the powers of their vision and their ability to inspire colleagues and students to drive the field forward. The members of the ACM are all participants in building the runways, launching pads, and vehicles of the global information infrastructure.

Back to Top

ACM Fellows

Hagit Attiya, Technion

David F. Bacon, IBM T.J. Watson Research Center

Ricardo Baeza-Yates, Yahoo! Research

Chandrajit L. Bajaj, University of Texas at Austin

Vijay Bhatkar, International Institute of Information Technology, Pune

José A. Blakeley, Microsoft Corporation

Gaetano Borriello, University of Washington

Alok Choudhary, Northwestern University

Nell B. Dale, University of Texas at Austin (Emerita)

Bruce S. Davie, Cisco Systems

Jeffrey A. Dean, Google, Inc.

Thomas L. Dean, Google, Inc.

Bruce R. Donald, Duke University

Thomas Erickson, IBM T. J. Watson Research Center

Gerhard Fischer, University of Colorado

Ian T. Foster, Argonne National Laboratory/University of Chicago

Andrew V. Goldberg, Microsoft Research Silicon Valley

Michael T. Goodrich, University of California, Irvine

Venugopal Govindaraju, University at Buffalo, SUNY

Rajiv Gupta, University of California, Riverside

Joseph M. Hellerstein, University of California, Berkeley

Laurie Hendren, McGill University

Urs Hoelzle, Google, Inc.

Farnam Jahanian, University of Michigan

Erich L. Kaltofen, North Carolina State University

David Karger, Massachusetts Institute of Technology

Arie E. Kaufman, State University of New York at Stony Brook

Hans-Peter Kriegel, University of Munich (Ludwig-Maximilians-Universitaet Muenchen)

Maurizio Lenzerini, Sapienza Universitá di Roma

John C.S. Lui, The Chinese University of Hong Kong

Dinesh Manocha, University of North Carolina at Chapel Hill

Margaret Martonosi, Princeton University

Yossi Matias, Google, Inc.

Renee J. Miller, University of Toronto

John T. Riedl, University of Minnesota

Martin Rinard, CSAIL-MIT

Patricia Selinger, IBM Research

R. K. Shyamasundar, Tata Institute of Fundamental Research

Shang-Hua Teng, University of Southern California

Chandramohan A. Thekkath, Microsoft Corporation – Microsoft Research

Robbert van Renesse, Cornell University

Baba C. Vemuri, University of Florida

Paulo Veríssimo, University of Lisbon

Martin Vetterli, Ecole Polytechnic Federale de Lausanne (EPFL)

Kyu-Young Whang, Korea Advanced Institute of Science and Technology (KAIST)

Yorick Wilks, University of Sheffield

Terry Winograd, Stanford University

Back to Top

Join the Discussion (0)

Become a Member or Sign In to Post a Comment

The Latest from CACM

Shape the Future of Computing

ACM encourages its members to take a direct hand in shaping the future of the association. There are more ways than ever to get involved.

Get Involved

Communications of the ACM (CACM) is now a fully Open Access publication.

By opening CACM to the world, we hope to increase engagement among the broader computer science community and encourage non-members to discover the rich resources ACM has to offer.

Learn More