Computing Applications News

Kyoto Prize and Other CS Awards

László Lovász, Vinton G. Cerf, and other researchers are honored for their contributions to computer science.
  1. Introduction
  2. Kyoto Prize
  3. ACM Awards
  4. IEEE Awards
  5. Author
  6. Footnotes
  7. Figures
Kyoto Prize winner László Lovász
Kyoto Prize winner László Lovász

The Inamori Foundation, ACM, and IEEE recently recognized leading computer scientists for their research and service.

Back to Top

Kyoto Prize

László Lovász, who is director of the Mathematical Institute at Eötvös Loránd University, has been awarded the 26th Annual Kyoto Prize in Basic Sciences from the Inamori Foundation. Lovász is being honored for his outstanding contributions to the advancement of both the academic and technological possibilities of the mathematical sciences.

Lovász has solved several monumental problems, but is perhaps best known for the Lovász local lemma, in which he provides a fundamental probabilistic tool for the analysis of discrete structures, and contributes to the creation of a framework for probabilistically checkable proofs. The basis algorithm, commonly known as the “LLL algorithm,” has also contributed to the construction of important algorithms, and has become a fundamental tool in the theory of cryptography.

Back to Top

ACM Awards

Radia Perlman, an Intel Fellow, has been awarded the highest honor from ACM’s Special Interest Group on Data Communications (SIGCOMM) for pioneering contributions to Internet routing and bridging protocols. SIGCOMM cited Perlman for her work on spanning tree bridging algorithms and link state routing algorithms, advances that have made the Internet more scalable and robust. To this day, both of these algorithms are used in most Internet switching devices.

Christos Faloutsos, a professor at Carnegie Mellon University, received the 2010 Innovation Award from the Special Interest Group on Knowledge Discovery and Data Mining (SIGKDD) for his contributions to key discoveries in time series database analysis, Internet topology, and Internet auction fraud detection. Faloutsos’ cross-disciplinary works on power-law graphs, fractal-based analysis, time series, multimedia, and spatial indexing are among the most referenced in industry and academic publications. SIGKDD also presented the 2010 Service Award to Osmar R. Zaïane, a professor at the University of Alberta, for his dedication to promoting the development of the global KDD community. Zaïane has been furthering data mining through active participation in other industry associations and driving the development of international communities dedicated to the advancement of KDD.

Back to Top

IEEE Awards

IEEE recently paid tribute to leaders in technology at its 2010 Honors Ceremony. Among the awards recipients are:

Vinton G. Cerf, vice president and chief Internet evangelist for Google, HKN Eminent Members Recognition;

N.R. Narayana Murthy, chairman and chief mentor at Infosys Technologies, Ltd., IEEE Honorary Membership;

Barry Boehm, founding Director Emeritus of the University of Southern California Center for Systems and Software Engineering, Simon Ramo Medal;

John Hopcroft, IBM Professor of Engineering and Applied Mathematics at Cornell University, and Jeffrey D. Ullman, Stanford W. Ascherman Professor of Computer Science (Emeritus) at Stanford University, John von Neumann Medal;

Ronald W. Schafer, HP Fellow in the Multimedia Communication and Networking Laboratory at Hewlett-Packard Laboratories, Jack S. Kilby Signal Processing Medal;

Whitfield Diffie, visiting scholar at Stanford University, Martin E. Hellman, Professor Emeritus of Electrical Engineering at Stanford University, and Ralph C. Merkle, senior research fellow at the Institute for Molecular Manufacturing, Richard W. Hamming Medal;

Randy Howard Katz, United Microelectronics Corporation Distinguished Professor in Electrical Engineering and Computer Science at the University of California, Berkeley, James H. Mulligan, Jr., Education Medal;

Stephen Deering, retired, Internet Award;

Larry Peterson, Robert E. Kahn Professor of Computer Science at Princeton University, Koji Kobayashi Computers and Communications Award;

Toshio Fukuda, professor in the Department of Micro-Nano Systems Engineering at Nagoya University, Robotics and Automation Award.

Back to Top

Back to Top

Back to Top


UF1 Figure. Kyoto Prize winner László Lovász

Back to top

Join the Discussion (0)

Become a Member or Sign In to Post a Comment

The Latest from CACM

Shape the Future of Computing

ACM encourages its members to take a direct hand in shaping the future of the association. There are more ways than ever to get involved.

Get Involved

Communications of the ACM (CACM) is now a fully Open Access publication.

By opening CACM to the world, we hope to increase engagement among the broader computer science community and encourage non-members to discover the rich resources ACM has to offer.

Learn More