Computing Applications News

Gödel Prize and Other CS Awards

Sanjeev Arora, Joseph S.B. Mitchell, and other researchers are recognized for their contributions to computer science.
  1. Introduction
  2. Gödel Prize
  3. Roger Needham Award and Lovelace Medal
  4. Royal Society Fellows
  5. Gerhard Herzberg Medal
  6. Alan T. Waterman Award
  7. Benjamin Franklin Medal
  8. Author
  9. Footnotes
  10. Figures
Gödel Prize winner Joseph S.B. Mitchell
Professor Joseph S.B. Mitchell of the State University of New York at Stony Brook (above) was awarded the Gödel Prize along with Princeton University Professor Sanjeev Arora.

The European Association for Theoretical Computer Science (EATCS) and the ACM Special Interest Group on Algorithms and Computation Theory (SIGACT), the British Computer Society, and other organizations recently honored select scientists for their contributions to computer science.

Back to Top

Gödel Prize

In recognition of their outstanding papers in theoretical computer science, EATCS and ACM SIGACT awarded the 2010 Gödel Prize to Sanjeev Arora, a professor of computer science at Princeton University, and Joseph S.B. Mitchell, a professor in the Department of Applied Mathematics and Statistics at the State University of New York at Stony Brook, for their concurrent discovery of a polynomial-time approximation scheme for the Euclidean Traveling Salesman Problem.

Back to Top

Roger Needham Award and Lovelace Medal

The British Computer Society (BCS) presented the Roger Needham Award to Joël Ouaknine of the Oxford University Computing Laboratory in recognition of his seminal and mathematical contributions to the field of timed systems modeling and analysis. BCS’s Lovelace Medal was presented to John Reynolds, a professor at the School of Computer Science, Carnegie Mellon University in recognition of his work of the last four decades and his contribution to the theory of programming languages.

Back to Top

Royal Society Fellows

The 44 newly elected 2010 Fellows of the Royal Society include two computer scientists. Hugh Francis Durrant-Whyte, director of the Australian Center for Field Robotics at the University of Sydney, was honored for his major contributions to robotics, in particular to the fields of sensor data fusion and of autonomous vehicle navigation. Georg Gottlob, a professor of computing science at the University of Oxford, was honored for his fundamental contributions to both artificial intelligence and database systems.

Back to Top

Gerhard Herzberg Medal

The Natural Sciences and Engineering Research Council of Canada bestowed the Gerhard Herzberg Canada Gold Medal, the nation’s top medal for science and engineering, to Gilles Brassard, Canada Research Chair in Quantum Information Processing at the Université de Montréal. Brassard is one of the inventors of quantum cryptography and a pioneer in the field of quantum information science.

Back to Top

Alan T. Waterman Award

The U.S. National Science Foundation (NSF) selected of Subhash Khot, an associate professor at New York University’s Courant Institute of Mathematical Sciences, to receive the 2010 Alan T. Waterman Award. Considered the NSF’s most prestigious honorary award since its establishment in 1975, it is given annually to an outstanding researcher under the age of 36 in any field of science and engineering supported by NSF. A theoretical computer scientist, Khot works in the area of computational complexity and seeks to understand the power and limits of efficient computation.

Back to Top

Benjamin Franklin Medal

The Franklin Institute presented the 2010 Benjamin Franklin Medal in Computer and Cognitive Science to Shafrira Goldwasser, RSA Professor of Computer Science and Engineering at Massachusetts Institute of Technology and professor of computer science and mathematics at Weizmann Institute of Science, for her fundamental contributions to the theoretical foundation of modern cryptography.

Back to Top

Back to Top

Back to Top


UF1 Figure. Gödel Prize winners Sanjeev Arora, left, and Joseph S.B. Mitchell.

Back to top

Join the Discussion (0)

Become a Member or Sign In to Post a Comment

The Latest from CACM

Shape the Future of Computing

ACM encourages its members to take a direct hand in shaping the future of the association. There are more ways than ever to get involved.

Get Involved

Communications of the ACM (CACM) is now a fully Open Access publication.

By opening CACM to the world, we hope to increase engagement among the broader computer science community and encourage non-members to discover the rich resources ACM has to offer.

Learn More