Computing Applications News

Computer Science Awards

Scientists worldwide are honored for their contributions to design, computing, science, and technology.
  1. Introduction
  2. Knight Commander of the British Empire
  3. ACM Distinguished Members
  4. AAAS Fellows
  5. Author
Apple Senior Vice President Jonathan Paul Ive
Jonathan Paul Ive, senior vice president of Industrial Design at Apple Inc., was named a Knight Commander of the Most Excellent Order of the British Empire by Queen Elizabeth II.

The United Kingdom, ACM, and the American Association for the Advancement of Science (AAAS) recently recognized leading members of the computer science community.

Back to Top

Knight Commander of the British Empire

Jonathan Paul Ive, Senior Vice President, Industrial Design, Apple Inc., was named a Knight Commander of the Most Excellent Order of the British Empire by Queen Elizabeth II "for services to design and enterprise." The knighthood is Ive’s second royal honor. He was awarded a Commander of the British Empire honor in 2006 for achievements in design and innovation.

Back to Top

ACM Distinguished Members

ACM has named 54 of its members as Distinguished Members for their individual contributions to computing. The 2011 Distinguished Members include computer scientists, educators, and engineers from leading academic and corporate institutions across countries and continents. One ACM member has been recognized as a 2011 ACM Distinguished Engineer: Aaron Marcus, Aaron Marcus and Associates. Four ACM members have been recognized as 2011 ACM Distinguished Educators: John Impagliazzo, Hofstra University; Michael Kölling, University of Kent; Richard E. Pattis, University of California, Irvine; Mark Allen Weiss, Florida International University. Forty-nine ACM members have been recognized as 2011 Distinguished Scientists: Krste Asanovic, University of California, Berkeley; Benjamin B. Bederson, University of Maryland; Elizabeth M. Belding, University of California, Santa Barbara; Ricardo Bianchini, Rutgers University; Stephen M. Blackburn, The Australian National University; Aaron F. Bobick, Georgia Institute of Technology; Upen Sharma Chakravarthy, University of Texas at Arlington; Satish Chandra, IBM Research; Jyh-Cheng Chen, National Chiao Tung University; Shu-Ching Chen, Florida International University; Ingemar J. Cox, University College London; Dilma M. Da Silva, IBM T.J. Watson Research Center; Marie des Jardins, University of Maryland, Baltimore County; Martin Dietzfelbinger, Technische Universität Ilmenau; Elena Ferrari, University of Insubria; Stephen J. Fink, IBM T.J. Watson Research Center; Patrick J. Flynn, University of Notre Dame; Armando Fox, University of California, Berkeley; Minos Garofalakis, Technical University of Crete; Michael Gleicher, University of Wisconsin–Madison; Amarnath Gupta, University of California, San Diego; Clare-Marie Karat, Karat Consulting Group; Tamara G. Kolda, Sandia National Laboratories; Kang-Won Lee, IBM T.J. Watson Research Center; Sung-Ju Lee, Hewlett-Packard Labs; Chih-Jen Lin, National Taiwan University; Jie Liu, Microsoft Research; Cristina Videira Lopes, University of California, Irvine; Diana Marculescu, Carnegie Mellon University; Igor L. Markov, University of Michigan; Michael Mascagni, Florida State University; David R. Millen, IBM T.J. Watson Research Center; Mukesh K. Mohania, IBM India; Frank Mueller, North Carolina State University; Robert L. Nord, Carnegie Mellon University; Jignesh M. Patel, University of Wisconsin–Madison; Li-Shiuan Peh, Massachusetts Institute of Technology; Balakrishnan Prabhakaran, University of Texas at Dallas; Parthasarathy Ranganathan, Hewlett-Packard Labs; David F. Redmiles, University of California, Irvine; Kari-Jouko Räihä, University of Tampere; Puneet Sharma, Hewlett-Packard Labs; John T. Stasko, Georgia Institute of Technology; Shari Trewin, IBM T.J. Watson Research Center; Laurie Williams, North Carolina State University; Robert W. Wisniewski, IBM T.J. Watson Research Center; Qiang Yang, Hong Kong University of Science and Technology; Yuanyuan Zhou, University of California, San Diego; Benjamin G. Zorn, Microsoft Research.

Back to Top

AAAS Fellows

The AAAS Council elected 21 members as Fellows in the Section on Information, Computing and Communication "for their contributions to science and technology." They are Behnaam Aazhang, Rice University; Martín Abadi, University of California, Santa Cruz/Microsoft Research; David A. Bader, Georgia Institute of Technology; Luiz André Barroso, Google, Inc.; Katy Börner, Indiana University; Allan Borodin, University of Toronto; José A.B. Fortes, University of Florida; James Hendler, Rensselaer Polytechnic Institute; Alan R. Hevner, University of South Florida; Randy H. Katz, University of California, Berkeley; Joseph A. Konstan, University of Minnesota; John E. Laird, University of Michigan; Hector J. Levesque, University of Toronto; Michael R. Nelson, Georgetown University; Krishna V. Palem, Rice University; Jon M. Peha, Carnegie Mellon University; Martha E. Pollack, University of Michigan; Stuart Russell, University of California, Berkeley; Subhash Suri, University of California, Santa Barbara; Paul F. Uhlir, National Academy of Sciences; Jeffrey Voas, National Institute of Standards and Technology.

Back to Top

Join the Discussion (0)

Become a Member or Sign In to Post a Comment

The Latest from CACM

Shape the Future of Computing

ACM encourages its members to take a direct hand in shaping the future of the association. There are more ways than ever to get involved.

Get Involved

Communications of the ACM (CACM) is now a fully Open Access publication.

By opening CACM to the world, we hope to increase engagement among the broader computer science community and encourage non-members to discover the rich resources ACM has to offer.

Learn More