Architecture and Hardware

Athena Award Nominations Closing Soon!

Valerie Barr

What do Deborah Estrin, Karen Sparck Jones, Shafi Goldwasser, Susan Eggers, Mary Jane Irwin, Judith Olson, and Nancy Lynch all have in common?  Beyond their international acclaim as computing researchers, they also have in common that they were all honored by being named an Athena Lecturer by ACM-W, the ACM Council on Women in Computing.

Each year, the Athena Lecturer honors a preeminent woman computer scientist.  The awardee is chosen out of a pool of nominations made by the ACM SIG officers.  She gives an invited talk at an ACM conference determined by the SIG and the awardee, and receives a $10,000 honorarium graciously provided by Google.

Have someone in mind who you think should be nominated?  Take a look at the nomination information, and contact your SIG leadership.  Nominations for the 2013-2014 Athena Lecturer will close on Feb. 1, 2013.

Join the Discussion (0)

Become a Member or Sign In to Post a Comment

The Latest from CACM

Shape the Future of Computing

ACM encourages its members to take a direct hand in shaping the future of the association. There are more ways than ever to get involved.

Get Involved

Communications of the ACM (CACM) is now a fully Open Access publication.

By opening CACM to the world, we hope to increase engagement among the broader computer science community and encourage non-members to discover the rich resources ACM has to offer.

Learn More