Computing Applications ACM honors distinguished members

ACM Honors Distinguished Members

  1. Introduction
  2. Distinguished Engineers
  3. Distinguished Scientists
  4. Distinguished Members
  5. Senior Members for 2006

ACM has three distinct member grades to recognize the professional accomplishments of its members. The list of those members recognized as ACM Fellows in 2006 was published in the March 2007 issue of Communications (p. 26). Here, we list those members named distinguished engineer, scientist, or member and senior members in 2006.

Distinguished Engineer, Scientist, or Member recognizes those ACM members having five years of continuous professional membership and at least 15 years of professional experience that have made significant accomplishments or achieved a significant impact on the computing field.

Back to Top

Distinguished Engineers

Larry L. Constantine, Constantine & Lockwood, Ltd.
R. Kent Dybvig, Indiana University
Jo Ebergen, Sun Microsystems Laboratories
Sandra K. Johnson, IBM
Susan Landau, Sun Microsystems Laboratories
Robert Lefkowitz
Timothe Litt, Intel Corporation
John Nolan, Craigfad, UK
Charles Campbell Palmer, IBM Research, Hawthorne
Arun K. Somani, Iowa State University, Ames
David A. Thomas, Bedarra Research Labs, Canada
David M. Ungar, Sun Microsystems Laboratories
Guido van Rossum, Google, Inc.
Christopher A. Vick, Sun Microsystems Laboratories
Mario Wolczko, Sun Microsystems Laboratories
Feng Zhao, Microsoft Research
Albert Y. Zomaya, University of Sydney

Back to Top

Distinguished Scientists

Eric W. Allender, Rutgers University
George S. Avrunin, University of Massachusetts–Amherst
David F. Bacon, IBM Research, Yorktown Heights
Henry G. Baker, Baker Capital Corp.
Hans-J. Boehm, HP Labs
Ronald F. Boisvert, National Institute of Standards and Technology
Ramón Cáceres, IBM T.J. Watson Research Center, Hawthorne
Tracy Camp, Colorado School of Mines
Alan David Fekete, University of Sydney
Maria L. Gini, University of Minnesota
Michael T. Goodrich, University of California–Irvine
Richard E. Jones, University of Kent, UK
Joseph A. Konstan, University of Minnesota
Kathryn S. McKinley, The University of Texas at Austin
Dianne P. O’Leary, University of Maryland, College Park
Jan Pedersen, Yahoo! Research
Vivek Sarkar, IBM T.J. Watson Research Center, Hawthorne
Robert S. Schreiber, HP Labs.
Stuart C. Shapiro, State University of New York– Buffalo
John A. Tomlin, Yahoo! Research
David S. Touretzky, Carnegie Mellon University
Gregory S. Tseytin, IBM
Michael Worboys, University of Maine, Orono
Shumin Zhai, IBM Almaden Research Center

Back to Top

Distinguished Members

Reinaldo A. Bergamaschi, IBM T.J. Watson Research Center
Ruth E. Davis, Santa Clara University
Michael Franz, University of California–Irvine
Laura Hill, Sun Microsystems Laboratories
Elaine R. Palmer, IBM Research, Hawthorne
Susan H. Rodger, Duke University
Holly Rushmeier, Yale University
Robert A. Walker, Kent State University

Senior Member recognizes those ACM members having five years of continuous professional membership and with at least 10 years of professional experience that have demonstrated performance and accomplishment that set them apart from their peers.

Back to Top

Senior Members for 2006

Arvin Agah, The University of Kansas, Lawrence
Warren P. Alexander, The University of Kansas, Lawrence
Stephen R. Alpert, GE Healthcare IIT (Business Solutions)
Mohammad Banikazemi, IBM, Hawthorne
Stefano Basagni, Northeastern University
Mark Bearden, Applied Global Technology, Inc.
David Bellin, Buddha LLC, Consulting
Ronan Boulic, VRLAB, Lausanne, Switzerland
Geoffrey Brown, Indiana University
Douglas C. Burger, The University of Texas at Austin
Martin Burtscher, Cornell University
Luigi Domenico Capra, RaytecVision S.p.A., Italy
Krishnendu Chakrabarty, Duke University
Arthur Thomas Charlesworth, University of Richmond
Jyh-Cheng Chen, National Tsing Hua University, Taiwan
Pauchen Cheng, IBM, Yorktown Heights
Yiu-ming Cheung, Hong Kong Baptist University
Chen-Nee Chuah, University of California–Davis
Lorrie Faith Cranor, Carnegie Mellon University
Marie Desjardins, University of Maryland–Balitmore County.
Georg Disterer, University of Applied Sciences and Arts, Hanover, Germany
Dov Dori, Technion, Haifa, Israel
Ashutosh Dutta, Telcordia Technologies
Maria R. Ebling, IBM T.J. Watson Research Center, Hawthorne
Rudolf Fleischer, Fudan University, Shanghai
Terrence P. Fries, Coastal Carolina University, Conway, SC
Debasish Ghosh, Anshin Software Pvt. Ltd., India
German Goldszmidt, IBM, Somers, NY
Jim Grundy, Intel
Darren K. Guthrie, U.S. Government Accountability Office
Robert S. Hanmer, Lucent Technologies
David J. Hathaway, IBM Corp. Essex Junction, Vermont
Julia E. Hodges, Mississippi State University
Michael N. Huhns, University of South Carolina, Columbia, SC
William Jerome, IBM Research, Hawthorne
George Roger Ribeiro-Justo, Capgemini UK Berkshire
Clare-Marie N. Karat, IBM Watson Research Center, Hawthorne
John Karat, IBM T.J. Watson Research Center, Hawthorne
Kevin J. Karp, PPS Internet, New S. Wales, Australia
Stephen W. Keckler, The University of Texas at Austin
Volodymyr Kindratenko, NCSA, Urbana, IL
Artur Klauser, Intel Labs, Barcelona, Spain
David F. Kotz, Dartmouth College
Steven M. Kramer, Kramer Consulting
Allan K. Luk, P & L Software Publishing Limited, Hong Kong
Petri Mahonen, RWTH Aachen University, Germany
Jonathan I. Maletic, Kent State University
James R. Miller, University of Kansas, Lawrence
Mark R. Mosher, EMRT Consultants
Frank Mueller, NC State University, Raleigh
Mark R. Newsome, Hewlett-Packard
Vladimir A. Oleshchuk, Agder University College, Norway
Jauvane C. Oliveira, LNCC/CCC, National Laboratory for Scientific Computing / Brazilian Ministry of Science and Technology, Brazil
Rolf Oppliger, eSECURITY Technologies, Switzerland
Dietmar Pfahl, University of Calgary
Adam Porter, University of Maryland
K. Prasad, Innovation Communications Systems Ltd, India
Donna S. Reese, Bagley College of Engineering, MS State
Reza Rejaie, University of Oregon, Eugene
Theresa-Marie Rhyne, NC State University
Roger Rohrbach, Ecstatic Communications, Independent Consultant
Michael Rys, Microsoft
Prashant J. Shenoy, University of Massachusetts–Amherst
Diane L. Souvaine, Tufts University
Diomidis D. Spinellis, Athens University of Economics and Business, Athens, Greece
S. Sridhar, Microsoft
Michael Talbert, Air Force Research Laboratory
Hung Pheng Tan, National University of Singapore
Terence Thorpe, Centre for Integral Transformation, UK
Shari Trewin, IBM, Hawthorne
Ping-Sing Tsai, University of Texas–Pan American
Rosario A. Uceda-Sosa, IBM Research, Hawthorne
Ellen L. Walker, Hiram College
Christopher R. Wren, Mitsubishi Electric Research Laboratories
James L.Wright, IBM Research, Hawthorne
Jie Wu, Florida Atlantic University
Jocelyn Siu Luan Yeo Hamilton, DSO National Laboratories, Singapore

Join the Discussion (0)

Become a Member or Sign In to Post a Comment

The Latest from CACM

Shape the Future of Computing

ACM encourages its members to take a direct hand in shaping the future of the association. There are more ways than ever to get involved.

Get Involved

Communications of the ACM (CACM) is now a fully Open Access publication.

By opening CACM to the world, we hope to increase engagement among the broader computer science community and encourage non-members to discover the rich resources ACM has to offer.

Learn More