Sign In

Communications of the ACM


CS and Technology Leaders Honored

University of California, Berkeley Professor Michael I. Jordan

University of California, Berkeley Professor Michael I. Jordan.

Credit: Peg Skorpinski / Berkeley EECS

Awards were recently announced by ACM and the American Association for the Advancement of Science honoring leaders in the fields of computer science and technology.

Back to Top

ACM Awards

VMware Workstation 1.0, which was developed by Stanford University professor Mendel Rosenblum and his colleagues Edouard Bugnion, Scott Devine, Jeremy Sugerman, and Edward Wang, was awarded the Software System Award for bringing virtualization technology to modern computing environments, spurring a shift to virtual-machine architectures, and allowing users to efficiently run multiple operating systems on their desktops.

Michael I. Jordan, a professor at the University of California, Berkeley, is the recipient of the ACM/AAAI Allen Newell Award for fundamental advances in statistical machine learninga field that develops computational methods for inference and decision-making based on data.

Tim Roughgarden, an assistant professor at Stanford University, received the Grace Murray Hopper Award for introducing novel techniques that quantify lost efficiency with the uncoordinated behavior of network users who act in their own self-interest.

Matthias Felleisen, a Trustee Professor at Northeastern University, was awarded the Karl V. Karlstrom Outstanding Educator Award for his visionary and long-standing contributions to K-12 outreach programs.

Gregory D. Abowd, a professor at Georgia Institute of Technology, is the recipient of the Eugene L. Lawler Award for Humanitarian Contributions within Computer Science and Informatics for promoting a vision of health care and education that incorporates the use of advanced information technologies to address difficult challenges relating to the diagnosis and treatment of behavioral disorders, as well as the assessment of behavioral change within complex social environments.

Edward Lazowska, the Bill & Melinda Gates Chair in computer science and engineering at the University of Washington, received the Distinguished Service Award for his wide-ranging service to the computing community and his long-standing advocacy for this community at the national level. (An interview with Lazowska appears in the ACM Member News column on p. 12.)

Moshe Y. Vardi, the Karen Ostrum George Professor in Computational Engineering and Director of the Ken Kennedy Institute for Information Technology at Rice University, is the recipient of the Outstanding Contribution to ACM Award for his leadership in restructuring ACM's flagship publication, Communications of the ACM, into a more effective communications vehicle for the global computing discipline, and for organizing an influential, systematic analysis of offshoring, Globalization and Offshoring of Software, which helped reinforce the case that computing plays a fundamental role in defining success in a competitive global economy.

VMware Workstation 1.0 is the recipient of ACM's Software System Award.

Elaine Weyuker and Mathai Joseph were named recipients of the ACM Presidential Award. Weyuker, an AT&T Fellow at Bell Labs, was honored for her efforts in reshaping and enhancing the growth of ACM-W to become a thriving network that cultivates and celebrates women seeking careers in computing. Joseph, an advisor to Tata Consultancy Services, was honored for his commitment to establishing an ACM presence in India. His efforts were instrumental in the formation of the ACM India Council, which was launched last January.

Back to Top

American Academy Fellows

Eight computing scientists and technology leaders were among the 229 newly elected Fellows and Foreign Honorary Members to the American Association for the Advancement of Science. They are: Randal E. Bryant, Carnegie Mellon University; Nancy A. Lynch, Massachusetts Institute of Technology; Ray Ozzie, Microsoft; Samuel J. Palmisano, IBM; Burton Jordan Smith, Microsoft; Michael Stonebraker, Vertica Systems; Madhu Sudan, Massachusetts Institute of Technology; Moshe Y. Vardi, Rice University; and Jeannette M. Wing, Carnegie Mellon University/National Science Foundation.

Back to Top


Jack Rosenberger is Communications' senior editor, news.

Back to Top



©2010 ACM  0001-0782/10/0600  $10.00

Permission to make digital or hard copies of all or part of this work for personal or classroom use is granted without fee provided that copies are not made or distributed for profit or commercial advantage and that copies bear this notice and the full citation on the first page. To copy otherwise, to republish, to post on servers or to redistribute to lists, requires prior specific permission and/or a fee.

The Digital Library is published by the Association for Computing Machinery. Copyright © 2010 ACM, Inc.


No entries found