Sign In

Communications of the ACM

ACM News

Dr. Telle Whitney Receives Eda Achievement Award

Anita Borg Institute President & CEO Dr. Telle Whitney

Dr. Telle Whitney, Ph.D.


Dr. Telle Whitney, president and CEO of the Anita Borg Institute, is the recipient of the Tenth Annual Marie R. Pistilli Women in Electronic Design Automation (EDA) Achievement Award. The award honors Whitney for her extensive contributions to women working in technology, both as a role model while she worked in the semiconductor and telecommunications industries and as a leader with the Anita Borg Institute, as well as her other volunteer and professional roles. The award will be presented during the Workshop for Women in Design Automation (WWINDA) on July 27, 2008 as part of the 46th Design Automation Conference (DAC), which will be held July 26 – 31, 2009 at the Moscone Center in San Francisco.

"Throughout her career, Telle has made significant contributions to help advance other women, and it is an honor to present her with this award," said Karla Reynolds, 2009 WWINDA Committee Chair. "Men and women working in EDA have benefited tremendously from her energy and commitment to all she does."

Dr. Telle Whitney has been the president and CEO of the Anita Borg Institute for Women and Technology for the last six years. She has more than 20 years of experience in the semiconductor and telecommunications industries, including previous senior technical management positions with Malleable Technologies (now PMC-Sierra) and Actel Corporation. In addition, Whitney is a co-founder of the Grace Hopper Celebration of Women in Computing Conference. Whitney also belongs to several industry groups and is currently the co-chair of the ACM Distinguished Member Committee. A former member of the National Science Foundation Committee on Equal Opportunities in Science and Engineering (CEOSE), she is a co-founder of the National Center for Women & Information Technology. Whitney belongs to the advisory boards of MentorNet and the Professional Business Women's Conference, and is a member of CRA-W. Whitney holds Ph.D. and bachelor's degrees in computer science from Caltech and the University of Utah, respectively.

The Marie R. Pistilli award is given to individuals who have made notable contributions through their work that helped to advance women in the EDA industry. Additional information about the award, including previous recipients, is available at

The Workshop for Women in Design Automation, held during the annual Design Automation Conference (DAC), is a professional development event for men and women in the Electronic Design Automation field. An address by the yearly recipient of the Marie R. Pistilli Women in EDA Award is part of the program. Details are available at the DAC Web site.



No entries found

Sign In for Full Access
» Forgot Password? » Create an ACM Web Account