Sign In

Communications of the ACM

ACM News

Abel Prize in Mathematics Shared by Trailblazers of Probability and Dynamics

Logo of the Abel Prize.

Retired professors Hillel Furstenberg of the Hebrew University of Jerusalem, and Gregory Margulis of Yale University, were named winners of the Abel Prize.


Two mathematicians who showed how an underappreciated branch of the field could be employed to solve important problems share this year's Abel Prize, the mathematics equivalent of a Nobel.

The winners are Hillel Furstenberg, 84, of the Hebrew University of Jerusalem, and Gregory Margulis, 74, of Yale University. Both are retired professors.

The citation for the prize, awarded by the Norwegian Academy of Science and Letters, lauds the two mathematicians "for pioneering the use of methods from probability and dynamics in group theory, number theory and combinatorics."

From The New York Times
View Full Article



No entries found

Sign In for Full Access
» Forgot Password? » Create an ACM Web Account