Sign In

Communications of the ACM

ACM News

Facebook Will Now Remind You When It's Not the Only One Looking at Your Data


View as: Print Mobile App Share: Send by email Share on reddit Share on StumbleUpon Share on Hacker News Share on Tweeter Share on Facebook
Facebook's thumbs-up sign.

Facebook users will now receive notifications reminding them when third parties can see their information.

Credit: Getty

Even if you're a hardcore #DeleteFacebook-er, you're probably guilty of using your worn-out Facebook account to log into the occasional app—just for the convenience factor alone. Now, the company's offering a bit more insight into how these tools function.

In a company blog post announcing the "Login Notifications" rollout, software engineer Puxuan Qi explained that users will now receive notifications to remind them that third parties have a glimpse into their information and that controls are available to restrict how much of your personal data they can collect. The notifications will come via a nudge from the Facebook app and an associated email every time the user:

  • Logs-in to a third-party app with Facebook Login and grants the app access to their information.

    or

  • Re-uses Facebook Login to sign into a third party app after an app's access to information has expired.

From Gizmodo
View Full Article

 


 

No entries found

Sign In for Full Access
» Forgot Password? » Create an ACM Web Account