Sign In

Communications of the ACM

ACM News

Tardos to Receive von Neumann Medal

View as: Print Mobile App Share:
Eva Tardos.

Cornell University's Eva Tardos has been named to receive the 2019 IEEE John von Neumann Medal for outstanding achievement in computer-related science and technology.

Credit: Cornell University

IEEE announced today that Eva Tardos, the Jacob Gould Schurman Professor of Computer Science at Cornell University, will receive the 2019 IEEE John von Neumann Medal for outstanding achievement in computer-related science and technology.

Tardos was cited "For contributions to the field of algorithms, including foundational new methods in optimization, approximation algorithms, and algorithmic game theory."

The award, in 1990, is named in honor of mathematician John von Neumann, whose work at the Institute for Advanced Study led to the building of the IAS binary stored-program computer in 1952. The IAS machine served as the model for IBM's first all-electronic stored-program computer (the 701).

Tardos says on her Web page that she works in the areas of "Algorithms and algorithmic game theory, the subarea of theoretical computer science theory of designing systems and algorithms for selfish users. My research focuses on algorithms and games on networks and simple auctions.  I am mostly interested in designing algorithms and games that provide provably close-to-optimal results."

In addition to her teaching duties, Tardos also serves as associate dean of Cornell's College of Computing and Information Science.

A member of the National Academy of Engineering, the American Academy of Arts and Sciences, and the National Academy of Sciences, Tardos is also an ACM Fellow, a Fellow of INFORMS, and a Fellow of the American Mathematical Society. She has been the recipient of the Fulkerson Prize for outstanding papers in the area of discrete mathematics, the George B. Dantzig Prize for original research that has a major impact on the field of mathematical optimization, the Van Wijngaarden Award for scientists who contributed significantly to their field, the Gödel Prize for outstanding papers in the area of theoretical computer science, and the European Association for Theoretical Computer Science (EATCS) Award in recognition of a distinguished career in theoretical computer science.

Earlier this year, the Association for Women in Mathematics and Society for Industrial and Applied Mathematics selected her as their annual Sonia Kovalevsky Lecturer, an award presented to an individual in the scientific or engineering community whose work highlights the achievements of women in applied and computational mathematics.

She will receive the Medal next May at the IEEE Vision, Innovation, and Challenges Summit and Awards Ceremony in San Diego, CA.


No entries found

Sign In for Full Access
» Forgot Password? » Create an ACM Web Account