Sign In

Communications of the ACM

ACM News

2016 Cra Distinguished Service and A. Nico Habermann Awardees Announced

View as: Print Mobile App Share:
The logo of the Computing Research Association.

The Computing Research Association has announced its 2016 CRA Awards.

Credit: CRA

The CRA Board of Directors is pleased to announce its selections for the 2016 CRA Awards.

Maria Klawe – Distinguished Service Award Winner

Maria Klawe was selected as the 2016 recipient of the CRA Distinguished Service Award for her tireless commitment to and profound impact on the computing research community. Klawe is the president of Harvey Mudd College and has previously served as president of the Association for Computing Machinery. She helped Anita Borg and Telle Whitney establish the Institute for Women in Technology (now the Anita Borg Institute) and served as board chair.

Ayanna Howard – A. Nico Habermann Award Winner

Ayanna Howard was selected as the recipient of the 2016 A. Nico Habermann Award Winner for her sustained commitment to increasing diversity, combined with her distinction in research. She has a long track record of improving access to research for women and underrepresented minorities (URMs) as well as students with disabilities. Dating back to her work at JPL in the late 90’s, she ran a mentoring program for undergraduate women and, continuing today, she works on increasing minority participation at the graduate, undergraduate and high school levels.


From Computing Research Association
View Full Article



No entries found

Sign In for Full Access
» Forgot Password? » Create an ACM Web Account