Sign In

Communications of the ACM

ACM News

Acm, Google Increase Turing Award Prize to $1 Million

View as: Print Mobile App Share:
The logo of the ACM A.M. Turing Award.

The logo of the ACM A.M. Turing Award.

Credit: ACM

ACM and Google today announced the funding level for the ACM A.M. Turing Award has been raised to $1 million, four times its previous level.

This significant increase in the cash award for Turing Award recipients reflects the escalating impact of computing on many aspects of daily life, through the innovations and technologies it enables. It also is intended to raise the visibility of the Turing Award as the premier means of recognition for computer scientists and engineers who have made contributions of lasting and major technical importance to the computing field.  

The new amount will be awarded to Turing Award laureates beginning with the 2014 ACM A.M. Turing Award, which will be announced early next year, and which will be presented at the ACM Awards Banquet in the spring of 2015.

In a press conference this morning to announce the funding increase, ACM president Alexander L. Wolf ACM president Alexander M. Wolf.observed that, "With the generous support of Google, we can celebrate the mainstream role of computing in transforming the world and the way in which we connect, shop, and socialize We can also commemorate the pioneering fundamental contributions of our ACM Turing Award recipients in advancing computing as a science and profession." 

In attendance at the press conference were a number of Turing laureates, including
Silvio Micali ACM A.M. Turing Award laureate Silvio Micali. (2012),
Barbara Liskov ACM A.M. Turing Award laureate Barbara Liskov.(2008),
Edmund M. Clarke ACM A.M. Turing Award laureate Edmund M. Clarke.and Joseph Sifakis ACM A.M. Turing Award laureate Joseph Sifakis.(2007),
Butler W. Lampson ACM A.M. Turing Award laureate Butler Lampson.(1992),
Robert Tarjan ACM A.M. Turing Award laureate Robert Tarjan.(1986),
and Michael O. Rabin ACM A.M. Turing Award laureate Michael Rabin.(1976).

Another Turing laureate (and former ACM president), Vint Cerf ACM A.M. Turing Award laureate and former ACM president Vint Cerf. (2004), appeared on video from Australia as "virtual Vint" to offer his congratulations and support.

Google vice president of engineering Stuart Feldman, a Fellow (and former president) of ACM, said Google "is proud to provide increased support for ACM's Turing Award and its unique role in recognizing fundamental contributions in computing and computing science. Our funding reflects our continuing commitment to foster technology breakthroughs that drive progress in the digital age."

Google depends on computing and on advances in computing, Feldman said, and "the Turing Award has represented the finest of thought and the broadest of impact." He added, "We appreciate this opportunity to help ACM raise awareness of the innovators who have shaped the lives of people around the world with their imagination and inspiration." 

Since 1966, ACM has bestowed the A.M. Turing Award to honor the computer scientists and engineers who created the systems and underlying theoretical foundations that have propelled the information technology industry. The award is named for British mathematician Alan Turing, who envisioned the power of the thinking machine, leading the way to innovations that have changed the world, including programmable computers, mobile devices, cryptology, artificial intelligence, robotics, genomics, and the philosophy of science.


No entries found

Sign In for Full Access
» Forgot Password? » Create an ACM Web Account