Sign In

Communications of the ACM

Communications of the ACM

Nominees For Elections and Report of the ACM Nominating Committee

View as: Print Mobile App ACM Digital Library Full Text (PDF) In the Digital Edition Share: Send by email Share on reddit Share on StumbleUpon Share on Hacker News Share on Tweeter Share on Facebook
business figures


In accordance with the Constitution and Bylaws of the ACM, the Nominating Committee hereby submits the following slate of nominees for ACM's officers. In addition to the officers of the ACM, two Members at Large will be elected. The names of the candidates for each office are presented in random order below:

President (7/1/146/30/16):

Alexander L. Wolf, Imperial College London
Ronald Perrott, University of Oxford and Queen's University Belfast

Vice President (7/1/146/30/16):

Vicki L. Hanson, Rochester Institute of Technology and University of Dundee
Eugene H. Spafford, Purdue University

Secretary/Treasurer (7/1/146/30/16):

David A. Wood, University of Wisconsin
Erik Altman, IBM TJ Watson Research Center

Members at Large (7/1/146/30/18):

Victor Bahl, Microsoft Research, Redmond
Per Stenström, Chalmers University of Technology, Sweden
Cherri Pancake, Oregon State University
Madhavan Mukund, Chennai Mathematical Institute, India

The Constitution and Bylaws provide that candidates for elected offices of the ACM may also be nominated by petition of one percent of the Members who as of November 1 are eligible to vote for the nominee. Such petitions must be accompanied by a written declaration that the nominee is willing to stand for election. The number of Member signatures required for the offices of President, Vice President, Secretary/Treasurer and Members at Large, is 753.

The Bylaws provide that such petitions must reach the Elections Committee before January 31. Original petitions for ACM offices are to be submitted to the ACM Elections Committee, c/o Pat Ryan, COO, ACM Headquarters, 2 Penn Plaza, Suite 701, New York, NY 10121, USA, by January 31, 2014. Duplicate copies of the petitions should also be sent to the Chair of the Elections Committee, Gerry Segal, c/o ACM Headquarters. All candidates nominated by petition are reminded of the requirements stated in the Policy and Procedures on Nominations and Elections that a candidate for high office must meet in order to serve with distinction. This document is available on:, or copies may be obtained from Rosemary McGuinness, Office of Policy and Administration, ACM Headquarters. Statements and biographical sketches of all candidates will appear in the May 2014 issue of Communications of the ACM.

The Nominating Committee would like to thank all those who helped us with their suggestions and advice.

Alain Chesnais, CHAIR, Sheila Anand, Susan Dumais, Ben Fried, and Fabrizio Gagliardi

©2014 ACM  0001-0782/14/01

Permission to make digital or hard copies of part or all of this work for personal or classroom use is granted without fee provided that copies are not made or distributed for profit or commercial advantage and that copies bear this notice and full citation on the first page. Copyright for components of this work owned by others than ACM must be honored. Abstracting with credit is permitted. To copy otherwise, to republish, to post on servers, or to redistribute to lists, requires prior specific permission and/or fee. Request permission to publish from or fax (212) 869-0481.

The Digital Library is published by the Association for Computing Machinery. Copyright © 2014 ACM, Inc.


No entries found