Sign In

Communications of the ACM


ACM Honors Computing Innovators

View as: Print Mobile App ACM Digital Library Full Text (PDF) In the Digital Edition Share: Send by email Share on reddit Share on StumbleUpon Share on Hacker News Share on Tweeter Share on Facebook
Martin Casado and Dina Katabi

Martin Casado of VMware and Stanford University and Dina Katabi of MIT received the Grace Murray Hopper Award, which recognizes outstanding young computer professionals.

Credit: The New York Times / MIT

ACM has announced the winners of several prestigious awards in recognition of contributions to computing technology. The 2012 ACM award winners include prominent computer scientists, educators, and entrepreneurs.

The Grace Murray Hopper Award, given to the outstanding young computer professional of the year, and its accompanying $35,000 honorarium, go to Martin Casado of VMware and Stanford University for his work in creating the movement of software-defined networking (SDN), and to Dina Katabi of the Massachusetts Institute of Technology (MIT) for her contributions to the theory and practice of network congestion control and bandwidth allocation.

The Paris Kanellakis Theory and Practice Award honoring specific theoretical accomplishments that have had a significant and demonstrable effect on the practice of computing, accompanied by a prize of $10,000, is being given to Andrei Broder of Google, Moses Charikar of Princeton University, and Piotr Indyk of MIT's Computer Science and Artificial Intelligence Laboratory (CSAIL) for their groundbreaking work on locality-sensitive hashing.

The Karl V. Karlstrom Outstanding Educator Award, accompanied by a prize of $5,000, goes to Eric Roberts of Stanford University for his contributions to computing education.

The ACM/AAAI Allen Newell Award is presented to an individual for career contributions that have breadth within computer science, or that bridge computer science and other disciplines. This endowed award, accompanied by a prize of $10,000 and supported by the Association for the Advancement of Artificial Intelligence, is being given this year to Yoav Shoham of Stanford University and Moshe Tennenholtz of TechnionIsrael Institute of Technology and Microsoft Research Israel for their fundamental contributions at the intersection of computer science, game theory, and economics.

ACM's Software System Award is given to an institution or individual(s) in recognition of the development of a software system that has had a lasting influence, reflected in contributions to concepts, in commercial acceptance, or both. The 2012 Software System Award, which carries a prize of $35,000, is being awarded to LLVM, a language-independent collection of programming technologies that enables code analysis and transformation for arbitrary programming languages. Started in 2000 at the University of Illinois at Urbana-Champaign by Chris Lattner and Vikram Adve, LLVM has become widely used in both commercial products and for computer science research.

The Eugene L. Lawler Award for Humanitarian Contributions within Computer Science and Informatics recognizes an individual or a group who have made a significant contribution through the use of computing technology. This year the award, which includes a prize of $5,000 (plus travel expenses to the awards banquet), is being given to Thomas Bartoschek of the University of Münster and Johannes Schöning of Hasselt University for their contributions to GI@School (Geoinformatics at School), a program that encourages young people to develop a fascination for computer science and computer science research.

These innovators have made significant contributions that enable computer science to solve real-world challenges.

In addition, ACM will present its Distinguished Service Award to Mateo Valero for spearheading initiatives in Europe that have advanced high-performance computing research and education.

ACM has selected Zvi Kedem to receive its Outstanding Contribution to ACM Award for his leadership in rebuilding the ACM Computing Classification System (CCS) as a modern cognitive map of the computing field for the worldwide computing community.

Three ACM Presidential Awards are being given in recognition of leaders who extend ACM's profile and promote its role in advancing computing as a science and a profession. These honorees are:

  • Fabrizio Gagliardi of Microsoft Research, for his leadership as chair of the ACM Europe Council.
  • Yunhao Liu, professor at Tsinghua University, an active researcher and a member of the ACM China Council.
  • P J Narayanan, professor and dean at IIIT, Hyderabad, and president of the ACM India Council.

ACM will present its awards at the ACM Awards Banquet on June 15 in San Francisco, CA.

©2013 ACM  0001-0782/13/06

Permission to make digital or hard copies of part or all of this work for personal or classroom use is granted without fee provided that copies are not made or distributed for profit or commercial advantage and that copies bear this notice and full citation on the first page. Copyright for components of this work owned by others than ACM must be honored. Abstracting with credit is permitted. To copy otherwise, to republish, to post on servers, or to redistribute to lists, requires prior specific permission and/or fee. Request permission to publish from or fax (212) 869-0481.

The Digital Library is published by the Association for Computing Machinery. Copyright © 2013 ACM, Inc.


No entries found

Sign In for Full Access
» Forgot Password? » Create an ACM Web Account
Article Contents:
  • Article