Sign In

Communications of the ACM

ACM Careers

Four Students Recognized With ACM/CSTA 2020-21 Cutler-Bell Prize

View as: Print Mobile App Share: Send by email Share on reddit Share on StumbleUpon Share on Hacker News Share on Tweeter Share on Facebook
2020-2021 Cutler-Bell Prize Winners

The 2020/2021 Cutler-Bell Prize recipients (clockwise from top left) are Sahithi Ankireddy, Maurice Korish, Emily Yuan, and Brian Minnick.

Credit: ACM

Four graduating high school seniors throughout the U.S. were selected as recipients of the ACM/CSTA Cutler-Bell Prize in High School Computing. Eligible students submitted a project that engages modern technology and computer science. A panel of judges selected the recipients based on the ingenuity, complexity, relevancy, and originality of the projects.

Each Cutler-Bell Prize winner receives a $10,000 cash prize, which is sent to the financial aid office of the institution the student will be attending next year for their tuition.

This year's Cutler-Bell Prize recipients are Sahithi Ankireddy, of James B. Conant High School, Hoffman Estates, Ill., who used the experience of her father's heart attack to identify ways to detect heart disease in those who aren't deemed "at risk;" Maurice Korish, of Rae Kushner Yeshiva High School, Livingston, N.J., who developed FeedBot for disabled people who are unable to properly use their upper limbs; Emily Yuan, of Thomas S. Wootton High School, Rockville, Md., who created Spatial Drilldown, a visual interactive mapping system to report incident locations; and Brian Minnick, of Loudoun Valley High School, Purcellville, Va, who created the first fully 3D-printed 3D printer.

From Association for Computing Machinery
View Full Article


No entries found